OCC Summer Card Camp 2 – Week 3, Day 2

Today’s class, at onlinecardclasses.com,  revolved around die cutting techniques – embellishing die cuts or punched/hand cut shapes. Techniques included embossing cut shapes, cutting patterned paper,  using cut shapes as backgrounds, and color blocking with cut shapes.  For those of you who may not have dies — hand cut your shapes!  Dies are simply a tool to do things faster and easier.  You can do the same thing by tracing or drawing a shape onto paper and then cutting it. 🙂  Don’t feel like you have to go out and buy every die you see demonstrated in the hundreds of youtube videos!  You’ll end up in debtor’s prison! (don’t ask me how I know! lol)

I’m feeling a bit low on the ol’ creative mojo today, so I fell back onto some old tried and true techniques using our color combo. As Jennifer suggested in class today, I am substituting gold tones for the brown tones in the color combination. Using a Sizzix Floral Flourish #2 embossing folder, I embossed a panel.  On the embossed images, I used an embossing pen and – working in small sections – colored with the embossing pen and then used Rangers Ancient Gold Antique Gold embossing powder on the leaves and flourishes.  On the flower bud and flowers, I used the embossing pen, and then applied Judikins Sticky Stuff and heated just until sticky – this way I could more easily apply the chunkier Stampendeous Jewel Encrusted embossing flakes – in various sizes and shades of purple.  Then, I used Pebbles Pearlescent chalks to  highlight the flowers and used the lightest blue pearlescent chalk for the background — it’s very subtle but pretty, up close and personal! 🙂  I set the chalk with Spectra Fix Pastel Fixative (it’s all natural and odor free – a great product).

ImageI die cut a window into the panel using Spellbinders Labels Eleven die. To incorporate today’s lesson, I then die cut a frame to fit in the window with dies from the same set.  Using Distress Embossing powder in Dusty Concord, I heat embossed the frame – twice.  Additionally, I did the same to two strips of cardstock which you see on the top and bottom of the card.

The butterflies are punched with a Martha Stewart punch – out of purple and blue mulberry paper.  Using Ranger’s Super Fine Detail embossing powder in Gold, I embossed one side of the mulberry paper butterflies entirely in gold -look at the two small butterflies nearest to the sentiment.  However, when I flipped some of them over, I loved the “mistakes” of gold on the backside of the mulberry paper.  So, the other butterflies are completely gold underneath with splotches of gold on their wings. I love it when mistakes are so pretty! lol

The sentiment is also embossed, on the card base,  in Ranger’s Super Fine Detail embossing powder in Gold and is from Gina K.’s You Go, Girl! stamp set by Tami Mayberry.

The panel was placed over the sentiment with foam tape, and the butterflies were adhered with Glossy Accents.

Hope everyone is having fun! I’m going back to bed – for a nap! Hugs!

19 thoughts on “OCC Summer Card Camp 2 – Week 3, Day 2

  1. Don’t you love using the embossing pen? Makes it so much easier, I think! Your card is very pretty! I like the side you used for the butterflies–totally awesome with the gold and purple together!

  2. This card is amazing. You have captured the colors and I love the way they work together. You are right, when you don’t have the right supplies, you figure something else out. Very clever!

  3. So pretty!!! Your blue butterflies really catch my eye! And you’re making me want that flower stamp set…

  4. The gold embossing and chunky embossing flakes really make your card so glamorous! The colors are spot on! Great work, Stephanie!

    • Thanks so much dearie! I appreciate your calling and checking up on me! 🙂 I do think it’s the rain and barometric pressure having a field day on my joints! lol

  5. Wow- lucky you doing that card course- you’ve obviously been inspired. Love all the colour and sparkle on such a lovely card. Thanks for your comment on my blog too! x

Your Comments Make My Day!

