Happy Valentine’s Day Everyone!

I hope everyone is taking time to enjoy today with your loved one or loved ones or treating yourself to some pampering of your choice!  I’m taking it easy … just “chill-laxing” in my recliner and watching some movies, with the yorkies in my lap — possibly ordering in a nice hot pizza. Life is good!

I thought I’d share the Valentine’s cards I made.  Since the recipients should have received them by now, I thought it appropriate to share some cardmaking love with you all!

Please forgive the wonkiness of the photographs – the cards were all made straight, but the angle by which I took the pictures is odd in some cases.  I am working on my photography skills and saving for a new camera.  I am currently using my cell phone.

These first three were made for my great-niece and great-nephews.

EmmasCard MaxCard ZachsCard

The card stock for the bases is from Gina K. Designs.  The patterned paper is from my stash. The sequins are from http://www.ccartwright.com. The card base was die cut with Little B’s Hearts die set – fabulous set!  You can cut or just emboss or cut AND emboss with this set. The card was cut with the largest die and embossed with the next largest die. Love it!  The sentiment is from Impression Obsession’s Valentine Hearts set.  It was stamped with Versamark Ink and set with various Zing! embossing powders to match the cards.

These next cards, I call a “companion set” as I switch die cut elements between the two cards to get different looks.

Austenscard TylersCard

The embossing folder used in the background is from Lifestyle Crafts Sweetheart embossing folder set.  I use this same embossing folder in another card in this post, but with a slightly different twist.  The hearts and frame around the hearts were cut in the same colored cardstock as the embossed piece – however, the frames where switched between the two cards – providing contrast to the background.  The die used is Memory Box’s Heart Ensemble.  The arrowed sentiment is from My Favorite Things Die-namics Straight To My Heart die set.  All papers are wood grain embossed.  The card base is paperandmore.com’s Woodgrain Limba White cardstock #111 – best wood grain cardstock on the market, IMO. The colored wood grain cardstock is from Taylored Expressions.  I used Zig’s clear Wink of Stella to add shimmer to the hearts on both cards. I chose these color schemes as my sons are in their 20’s and not into the flowery, mushy valentine’s stuff (although I did slide in some glitter! lol)

These next three cards use Memory Box’s Woodland Heart Frame die to create simple, yet elegant cards.

AmosCard WoodlandHeart WoodRose

To vary the look of the cards, I used different colored cardstocks and embossing folders for the backgrounds.  For the card on the left, I used craft cardstock embossed with the same folder used above – Lifestyle Crafts Sweetheart embossing folder.  I also embossed the center heart with Darice’s Basketweave folder.  This makes for a great valentine’s card for any man in your life. For the middle card, the background is embossed with Spellbinders M-Bossibilities Enchanted Design B. I pieced cuttings from several die cut branches using C. C. Designs Leafy Branch.  This added more texture and interest to the card front.  The ribbon flowers are from Papermart.com.  For the card on the far right, the green card stock was embossed with a die – Spellbinders Nestabilities A2 Filigree Delight.  The heart was embossed with Elizabeth Craft Designs Spring Leaves folder.  The ribbon flower is from Papermart.com.  Card bases are Neenah Solar White cardstock.  The red cardstock is paperandmore.com’s Crimson Red Metallic105# 5×7.  The green cardstock is paperandmore.com’s Metallic Botanic Green — it’s absolutely beautiful in person.

These next two cards used the same die, but in in different ways.

RedBtrflyHeart StripedBtrfly

The card on the left, used Memory Box’s Butterfly Heart as  designed – it cut the outline of the wings so that they can be lifted up for dimension.  I used Zig’s Wink of Stella in red to paint the wings to add more contrast.  A piece of blue vellum was put on the back for contrast.  The gauze ribbon is from papermart.com – the most economical way to buy ribbon.  (Hint, buy ribbon in either white or cream and use your paints or inks to color them to match your project!)  The card on the right also uses Memory Box’s Butterfly Heart die – however, this time I used my craft knife to continue cutting each of the butterflies out and placed them on a  white card base.   The sentiment is from Impression Obsession’s Valentine Hearts set.

Because it is getting late, I will wait to share the remaining  cards tomorrow! Take care and sweet dreams!

Hugs,

Stephanie

4 thoughts on “Happy Valentine’s Day Everyone!

Your Comments Make My Day!